Love in the truth

26 01 2011

“Dear children, let us not love with words or speech but with actions and in truth.” (1 John 3:18)

Today I will be brief. This verse speaks for itself. As I wrestled today with what to write about, I just didn’t feel inspired, and I didn’t want to write without God’s leading. So I turned to 1 John, a book I know well and love, and God met me there, both giving me something to write and a lesson I need to be reminded of as well. Let us love in action and in truth. What could be more perfect, whether we are loving a child, a parent, a boyfriend, a stranger, whoever, we are called to serve them first, to put their needs above our own, to love with action. We are also called to love them in truth, no to conjure up love that doesn’t exist, and not to love them in our own strength, but to love them with the truth that we are only capable of loving because Christ loved us first. And our love is an overflow of that truth.

In His love,
Stacey


Actions

Information

Leave a comment